R. I. P. Thank You.

I was born in the late 1960’s.  Things were much different then. Children were not ruled by the latest technological devices, rather we were ruled by our parents. I can’t speak for my entire generation, as I am sure that there were those who would disagree with my opinion.

I know that the kids on my block were taught manners. Not fancy etiquette, nope just plain old manners. “Please” and “Thank You” were non-negotiable always to be used parts of “minding ones manners”.

I got spanked if I did not begin any request I made with the word “Please”.

I got a spanking if I received something from someone and did not respond with “Thank You”.

Back in those days (oh geez, I sound like my grandma) spanking was the punishment for most childhood “crimes” and after being spanked a few times, one did whatever one could to avoid the spanking.

“Please” and “Thank You” became a natural part of my vocabulary at a very young age and have remained there since. Perhaps it was the spankings I received if I was not “polite”?  Meaning: I didn’t say “Please” or “Thank you”.  Whatever the reason,  to this day I am “polite”.

“Thank You” has been such an important part of my life, thus it pains me to make the following announcement:

“Thank You” has died.

I want to share my thoughts and feelings about the death  of “Thank You”, because we have shared a special relationship throughout my life. It took me many years to understand the incredible power that “Thank You” held.

“Thank You” made a difference in the way I worked, in the way I helped others and in the way other folks treated me. “Thank You” was the difference between my willingness to do things and total lack of regard for doing anything.

“Thank You” did more to motivate me than any other thing in this world.

“Thank You” inspired in me a desire to help those in need, to do a good job and urged me to always do more.

“Thank You” made me feel I was valuable, that what I had done was worthwhile and appreciated and that I was not taken for granted.

“Thank You” was the reason I worked very hard at some jobs, and quit others.

“Thank You” provided me opprtunities I may never have had.

“Thank You” made me feel Proud, Confident, Appreciated and Respected.

Today, I am heartbroken. You cannot fathom all that has been lost since the untimely demise of “Thank You”.

I do not understand why “Thank You” has died, but it has. I will forever remain vigilant and always remember “Thank You”. who gave me so much. I will speak the words “Thank You” always to honor the gifts “Thank You” gave to my life.

Will you?

“Thank You”,  Rest In Peace.

14 thoughts on “R. I. P. Thank You.

  1. What a wonderful post. I was also born in the late 1960s and can really resonate with this so much. My parents (of Italian descent) instilled in us from a very young age the absolute fundamentals of saying please and thank you. And this in turn I’ve passed onto my two children, so hopefully they’ll keep passing it on. It won’t die completely! 🙂 Cheers. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too am filled with sadness that ‘thank you’ is disappearing. I can say that my own children (aged 29, 26, 23 and 21) say it and mean it. But my generation of parents seems to have ruled it out of their children’s normality. To be thankful for what we have is hugely important and I sense that one of the major issues in the western world is a lack of thankfulness, a discontent with what we have a feeling that we are entitled to more. I came to you via the Weird Guy and I am thankful that I did and I thank you for this piece which I actually think is marvellous, if sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I couldn’t agree with you more. I am not sure when the sense of “Entitlement” that runs rampant through today’s society began, but it has infected an entire generation or two. It has created people who are completely self-centered and display a total lack of empathy or compassion for others. Perhaps it stems from parents being unable to spank their kids anymore? I can’t call it, but it’s truly a tragedy. At least there are a few of us left…maybe we can start a “Thank You” movement? Anyway…Thank you for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Please and Thank You probably make more of an impact these days at least as far as my experience goes.. The slightly widened eyes with a smile for not assuming or being gruff, with a please.. And the same reaction for being appreciated with a thank you.. Up until maybe 15 yrs ago it was considered more of an expected formality and polite, taken for granted when said.. Now they stand out and are taken more to heart it seems..

    Like

Leave a Reply

